Follow me on Twitter RSS FEED
Showing posts with label Biggie. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Biggie. Show all posts

As the People catch on, the Junior Mafia 2 Wave continues...


Hopefully you can take a few minutes from imitating the latest imitation Biggie “Unh” that Ricky Rozay has been sporting while he continues to think he’s Big Meech, Larry Hoover, MC Hammer, Albert Anastasia, Biggie Smalls to give your opinion on what’s going on here in the Hip-Hop scene…

Ross’ momentum is already impressive and increasing at an outlandish pace, respect is due. Nicki Minaj has solidified herself as the first and biggest heavyweight female representative on the Hip-Hop scene, since Lil Kim had everybody reciting her verse from All About the Benjamins. Furthermore, Diddy’s Dirty Money is quietly becoming a big contender in the market of dynamic artists to feature on a track. All this while a beef with 50 Cent slowly grows in popularity, after that “…hatin-ass crab” remark from Diddy on the post-show for the BET awards. All that’s left is for Ross to have a romance with Nicki to complete the “New Junior Mafia” picture I mentioned in May.

However, there are roadblocks to be considered. While 50 may not be the juggernaut he was in 2006, he’s still making moves quietly, and Diddy especially can’t ignore that, as he is a fellow NY mogul.

Ross has apparently stirred up Jeezy with the BMF record, but I’d even venture to say the success of the record is what has Jeezy feeling salty, while I’m still a fan. I could see Jeezy being the source of a potential downfall for Rick Ross, as the subject matter is similar, but Jeezy is ‘the snowman’ and having the official street stamp behind him is going to play a role that could put him over the top in battle, as long as he delivers when he gets in the booth to let these records go, and takes advantage of the residual damage 50 Cent left behind. Nobody forgot about the lie Ricky! Trying to hide the correctional job is bound to come back in the worst way, as this battle with Jeezy runs its course.

Nicki has The Game taking stabs at her, along with every female that aspires to be in her position, along with claims that she hasn’t graciously accepted her position. Personally, with verses like the one she put down on Kanye West’s “Monster”, I don’t think it matters what people say, she has her lane on lock and her fan base is growing in multiples. She just needs to deliver a classic on that first album, since Drake’s collaboration fest still left many skeptics with a voice against the Young Money camp. Other than that, I don’t see many ways to derail Nicki on her path to the throne, as the next queen of Hip Hop.

Diddy has the machine clicking on all cylinders for the moment. However, If I saw this Junior Mafia repeat coming, back in May, I would assume those who compete on that level saw it coming too. Jay-Z signing Lil Kim is going to be an impact move sooner or later. Ross’ battle with Jeezy is going to pose a threat to his progress. Finally, I wouldn’t see it as a surprise if 50 cent makes his first relatively successful moves in a while, off of this ensuing battle with Diddy.


All in love, but we gotta speak on what goes on, you know you gotta pass that one on! Wahh!

Is Diddy Trying to RECREATE Junior Mafia!





Hip Hop Cycle?


Yow from the Upper Cloud!

Grandaddy in the air, got me wantin to talk about old times! If you speak to older people, they’ll tell you that the music industry has a way of recycling itself, and over time I think we’re approaching the chance to see a perfect example of this. Being of a relatively young age 22, I had the opportunity to live through one of the more productive points of Hip Hop, especially on the East Coast. If you’re unfamiliar with who “Puff Daddy” is in relation to our present day “Diddy”/ “Ciroc Obama”, you should stop reading now.





What’s Ciroc Obama up to?! Bad Boy Rewind with Rick Ross and Nicki Minaj?!

Puffy was the people person of the streets. He brought us one of our greatest of all time with Brooklyn’s own “Teflon Don” The Notorious BIG, along with countless other classic acts like Lil Kim, Shyne, Craig Mac, and the list goes on. Before 2000, he was entertaining us with street classics, and afterwards, with a much larger pop-culture fan base to appeal to as well. I’m only so brief in my description of his epic career because we expect you to know this shit already, simply put. So, sitting in Big Red catching up on news in Hip-Hop can bring one to wild assumptions, because from his latest moves I venture to guess that Diddy’s “Ciroc Obama” campaign is gonna’ start off with some kind of reincarnation of Junior Mafia, starring Rick Ross as Biggie Smalls and Nicki Minaj as Lil Kim, as he recently began MANAGING both of them. Needless to say, reinventing Lil Kim in another artist while she just signed a deal with Jay-Z under Roc-Nation is going to have its obstacles. I have to ask if you think Diddy expected Jay to sign Kim. I personally think Jay may have caught him off guard with that one. To add to the suspicion, “Teflon Don” Rick Ross has been picking up a lot of “familiar” ad-libs, along with what I’d call a pretty controversial album name to coincide with his new management. I especially would love to hear the NY opinions on this endeavor, because I’m already feelin’ the vibe won’t be too hot from home! Nicki already had the Lil Kim comparisons coming at her from all angles. So, I’m sure this is nothing she isn’t used to handling. However, from the Upper Cloud its lookin’ like Ciroc Obama is about 2 shiny suits and one slow flowin’ ass rapper away from the 1990s Bad Boy feel I think he’s going for, and to add to it, I think they’re well aware and down to give the shit a shot. I just don’t know how I feel about it. Pass that to da left. Wahh!