Follow me on Twitter RSS FEED
Showing posts with label Unity. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Unity. Show all posts

The New Black Panthers? Not quite...




Black Power, A beautiful statement and a symbol of the ultimate result of the Black community operating under a unified front.  This is the propaganda used to fuel the voices that make up one of the more recent powerful factions, that is The New Black Panther Party.

The Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation has already denounced the New Black Panther Party, as a “small band of African Americans” that’s found no legitimacy of their own, even in the black community, many blacks see it as a hate group. No better than the Ku Klux Klan.  The foundation also condemns the association of The New Black Panther Party to the original Black Panthers. The foundation goes as far as to imply that The New Black Panther Party actually incites hate, rather than resolve it.

This combined with the assault from the media, as a result of their own public miscues result in the world overlooking the actual mission statement of this movement, protecting and strengthening the black community. I feel the intentions should shine in as much light as the faults.

With that being said, I think it The New Black Panthers needs to undergo serious reform and organization if the organization expects to gain legitimacy among any community.  The media has a seemingly endless supply of representatives of the NBPP harboring constant displays of bigotry. Whether it was at the polling station back in 2008 at the time Barack Obama was elected, rap songs talking about all types of racism -why the political faction rap to be a good outlet is beyond me-, or inarticulate outbursts demonizing other races and groups, the NBPP has yet to find a way to balance the scales with regard to their blunders and successes. This serves as an obstacle to any group hoping to gain a following, as they can so easily be demonized.

I’m sure there’s a lot more to this situation than what the media has allowed to gain attention, but in the society we live in, unity holds precedence in power. A ten-point program that basically asks for segregation to be reestablished won’t really do the trick of putting the black community where it needs to be. While there’s obvious need for reform in the black community, these kinds of uncoordinated, hateful, aggressive methods of expression will only give those in control the necessary leverage to keep the imbalances that plague our people in tact.

In short, If you’re going to fight the injustices of America, don’t’ say anything that can’t be proven or backed up, and If you’re going to go with the ill-advised approach, make sure the world can’t see and negatively judge you for it. A hate group has yet to win in this country, and I don’t see it happening now. No room to get caught slippin...Waaahh!!

Drake, groundbreaking HIP-HOP artist, or Big Impact Pop Star, the difference may effect your EXPERIENCE…

Yow! Classic NY Sour for this one…perfect vibe. Happy Fathers Day!

Ok, so I hit this “FREE CONCERT” last week sponsored by Ray-Ban and Paper Magazine. The concert was said to feature Drake and Hansen, in an attempt to mix the crowd and express the aims of the magazine towards diversity.

What apparently wasn’t on the agenda was actually having the featured acts PERFORM! Another aspect of the show it may have been nice to plan for is the 20,000 New Yorkers that decided to make their presence felt! For whatever reason, on this particular day, one of the hottest acts in the game wasn’t supposed to attract a crowd in the busiest city in the world, during a FREE show. PM and I didn’t want to get there too late, not knowing what to expect from a free “Drake Concert”, and we couldn’t have gotten there early enough to be prepared for the situation that was about to unfold.

Contrary to popular belief, this is not a “Niggaz don’t know how to act” themed piece. This is more of a “What the fuck is going on” kind of vibe I’m working to establish. The crowd at the concert has been recently portrayed, as “the reason for the concert being cancelled” was the type of crowd that HIP HOP artists live and die to entertain. Ciphs among strangers, beach balls flying, crowd surfing, and general rare UNITY were among the features of this “angry mob”. They were actually so angry, that I was able to interview various people about current issues in hip hop. So, for the sake of not lying my ass off and going with the flow of bullshit that is the media, I deem this to be a “don’t blame us because you don’t have your shit together” themed piece. However, if we don’t hold promoters and artists accountable for things like this, how is it ever going to change?

What starts a “riot” is getting a big group of people together, and pissing them off. That’s precisely what happened. People came out to see Drake, some to see Hansen, and nobody saw anyone, except NinjaSonic, who left the scene unscathed, along with the DJ who got a few minutes to rock the crowd. Everything was fine until it came down to show and prove that you had the hottest act in the game here to perform for everybody, free of charge.

Nobody came out, hours pass as we wait for the DJ to get back to spinning. The moment never arrived, just the announcement that the concert was cancelled, and a fiery  reaction from the crowd upon seeing a TWEET from Drake, blaming his non-appearance on the NYPD, who blamed in on the unruly crowd, as the crowd blamed its unruliness on the lack of fulfillment of a promise. Up to that point, the only issue was people getting on roofs to get the best view! 

The crowd goes from unsettled, to unruly, to uncontrollable! Please take a moment to check the footage of the fights breaking out, a woman running with an infant -what the fuck she was thinking, remains a mystery-, various foods and bottles flying and landing with no direction, clear safety violations, nobody explaining anything, overly-aggressive police, and unified anger.  The worst part of all this, it wouldn’t have happened IF DRAKE CAME out. I just wanted to set the tone for this. Real MCs Move Crowds, they don’t move away from them. People got hurt, children were at risk, and more of the negative vibes that already saturate this city were incubated here. Somebody has to take responsibility, and I don’t think it’s your supporters Drake. It might actually be the photographer that was ON STAGE, TAKING PICTURES OF THE ANGRY CROWD...

Real Hip-Hop superstars would have made that scene into a moment. All the ingredients were present. What if it were Jay-Z, DMX, Jeezy, or Busta Rhymes? That scene would have been replayed for years to come. Thousands were screaming “We want Drake!”, but the question at the end is, what do you want Drake? I feel like I shouldn’t be upset, because of the repetitive claims of being in this industry for the money, but how about what your support is in it for? Does that shit matter AT ALL ANYMORE?! 

This “in it for the money” trend that’s taken over Hip Hop is translating to more than a loss of substance in the genre, but a loss of integrity and responsibility, as people don’t take the initiative to not buy your shit when you fuck them over. Congrats on the gigantic album sales Drake, I guess “Thank Me Later” was an appropriate title, because according to these interviews, one of the aspects that he's still developing is his stage presence, and I don’t see shit to be thankful for right now on these vids and pics. Except, a chance to see a lot of angry ass people that felt like he wasn't built for the NY scene. Keep that weak shit outta here...

Hold dat, WAhhh!